32 Comments
Apr 24, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

I heard that the witchlands was originally meant to be an adult series, and while the books certainly read as upper YA, I was wondering if this is true? If you had the chance to release the series again, would you change the category or anything else?

Expand full comment
Apr 24, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Any chance you’ll ever visit the world of SS&D again? 🥲

Expand full comment
Apr 24, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Anything you can share about the Witchland series with The Jim Henson Company?

Expand full comment
Apr 24, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

How did you come up with all the god names in the Witchlands? I read something about them also being tectonic / continent bound? It fascinates me!

Expand full comment
Apr 24, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

What is the future of your fantasy verses? How many more Witchlands books will there be? Will you write any more Witchlands companion books because I love Sightwitch?

Do you have any other fantasy worlds in the pipeline?

Am I asking all of these because I’m part dragon and like to hoard??? Oh I guess that one’s self explanatory.

Expand full comment
Apr 25, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

I’ve written a book and I am currently talking to literary agents (which have been mostly rejections so far) but I want to improve my query. What tips would you give to me?

Expand full comment
Apr 26, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Hi Sooz! I absolutely fell in love with the Something Strange and Deadly series. Will these characters have a revival at any time?

Expand full comment
Apr 27, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Will Executioners be a series / duology??

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Do you have a short story in your drafts pile that you feel you would like to expand on as a full novel / series? [I was thinking of the short story you shared recently with paid subscribers, but any other stories you have would be cool, as well!]

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Will we learn more about the Nomatsis in the last Witchlands book?

Expand full comment
May 5, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Can you give us the story on how you developed the magic system for the Witchlands and how you made it more complex (even though you said you were supposed to make it simpler for the YA market haha). Thanks!

Expand full comment
May 5, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

I’ll shamelessly double post, too: how do you go about developing characters? The characters in your stories always feel so real that you could spend an evening in the pub with them, so how do you do it??

Expand full comment
May 9, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

How do you stick to the plot during a twitter choose your own adventure? Do the choices ever veer you into a direction you don't have planned? What are some votes that really surprised you?

Expand full comment
May 10, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Would you ever put a kraken in any of your stories? <3

Expand full comment
Jun 2, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Do you have any tips/tricks for using Scrivener, specifically for revising? I'm revising in it for the first time and it can be a little overwhelming, but it's also sooo useful, I'm sure there are features I'm missing!

Expand full comment
Jun 3, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

Will we every find out what Aeduan wished for in the firefly scene at the end of Windwitch? I CAN'T STOP THINKING ABOUT IT!!

Expand full comment
Jun 3, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

I've been thinking a lot about Aeduan's character and the way he thinks lately. Is it possible that he suffers from any mental health struggles like depression or PTSD because he seemingly talks pretty negatively about himself and his past? I mean it probably wouldn't have been identified that way in the Witchlands world but is his character possibly representative of mental health issues?

Expand full comment
Jun 4, 2023Liked by Susan Dennard

How far are you in writing Witchlight?

Expand full comment

Apart from the obvious heart-wrenching scenes (that were meant to be heartwrenching because that's the point of what happened!), what were the most heart-wrenching scenes for you to live through in each of your series, especially if the reader probably wouldn't have guessed how impactful they really were for you to put in? (I hope this counts as a book question, not a writing one!) <3

Expand full comment